NH Delegates to GOP Nat’l Conv Chosen

The New Hampshire Republican presidential campaigns have picked the delegates who will represent the state at the Republican National Convention this summer.

Ignoring potential sanctions which could cut the delegation in half, the campaigns have selected the following twenty individuals:

For Mitt Romney (12 delegates): state Sen. David Boutin of Hooksett; GOP super-activist Beverly Bruce of Tuftonboro; Ambassador Gerry Carmen of Rye; former U.S. Senator Judd Gregg of Rye; Merrimack County Sheriff Scott Hilliard of Northfield; Romney strategist Jim Merrill of Manchester; state Sen. Chuck Morse of Salem; Romney advisor Tom Rath of Concord; former House Speaker Doug Scamman of Stratham; Executive Councilor Dan St. Hilaire of Concord; former Governor John H. Sununu of Hampton Falls; and former House Speaker Donna Sytek of Salem.

For Ron Paul (5 delegates): state Sen. Jim Forsythe of Strafford; Donna Mauro of Windham; state Rep. Paul Mirski of Enfield; Ron Noyes of Concord; and state Sen. Andy Sanborn of Henniker.

For Jon Huntsman (3 delegates): state strategist Paul Collins of Rye; Renee Plummer of Portsmouth; and state campaign manager Sarah Stewart of Manchester.

Rick Santorum, Newt Gingrich, and Rick Perry failed to reach the 10% threshold in the New Hampshire primary needed to win any delegates.

Romney alternates are state Sen. Jack Barnes; House Majority Leader DJ Bettencourt; Sheriff Mike Downing; Sheriff Doug Dutile; Jackie Eastwood; Tom Eaton; Peter Heed; Bob Letourneau; Jim MacEachern; state Sen. Jim Rausch; Executive Councilor Ray Wieczorek; and Chris Wolfe.

Paul alternates are Katie Baker; Jordan Brown; Bob Goodman; Linda Lagana; and Chris Wood.

Huntsman alternates are Brad Blais; Dave Currier; and Adam Schroadter.

New Hampshire’s delegation is meant to have 23 members – 20 delegates selected via the primary, and three addition slots reserved for the state party chairman (Wayne MacDonald), the National Committeewoman (Phyllis Woods) and the National Committeeman (Steve Duprey).

However, the state GOP is expected to face a sanction because the primary occurred earlier than allowed by national party rules (thanks a lot, Florida!). The state’s delegation could be reduced by half, to 12 delegates. The three national committee members would be specifically blocked from serving as delegates, should the sanction be enforced.

In 2008, the balance of New Hampshire’s delegation were allowed to attend the convention as non-voting guests.

Of some interest to insiders will be who didn’t make the cut from the campaign’s original list of 20 delegates. In the case of the Romney campaign, most of their “extra” delegates were made alternates, effectively bumping their original list of alternates. Dropped from the original delegate list were state Sen. Jeb Bradley and Rockingham County Attorney Jim Reams (one can assume they voluntarily gave up their positions so that others could attend), and promoted from the bench were Bettencourt, Downing, Dutile, Eaton, Heed, and Letourneau.

If the delegations get cut in half again, each campaign will presumably have to ask half if its delegates to step aside or become alternates, bumping others down the pecking order.

For most people, being listed as a delegate or an alternate is largely honorary to begin with, so few hard feelings are likely to develop.

Fergus@ferguscullen.com; March 26, 2012

Author: Fergus Cullen

Fergus Cullen is a former chairman of the New Hampshire Republican Party (2007-2008) and an editorial page columnist for the New Hampshire Union Leader.

Share This Post On
468 ad